European Innovative Teaching Award

European Innovative Teaching Award

Description and scope of the European Innovative Teaching Award

As part of the Communication on achieving the European Education Area  by 2025, the European Innovative Teaching Award (EITA) is established to showcase outstanding teaching practices implemented in the framework of the Erasmus+ Programme and recognise the work of teachers and their schools who make an exceptional contribution to the profession. It should contribute to highlighting the value of European cooperation in the field of education and to the establishment the European Education Area.

The specific objectives of the planned EITA are to:

  • celebrate the achievements of teachers and schools and give more visibility to their work;
  • identify and promote outstanding teaching and learning practices;
  • foster mutual learning between teachers and school staff;
  • highlight the value of the Erasmus+ programme to European teacher collaboration.


The EITA shall be given to Erasmus+ completed projects, which will be selected by Erasmus+ (education and training) National Agencies on a yearly basis, starting in 2021.

As Erasmus+ projects are already grant-based, the prize will have a symbolic value and will not provide additional monetary benefits to the laureates.

To ensure high quality and consistent implementation of the EITA as well as transparency, the MT NA  shall follow the guidelines and award criteria set out hereafter:

Eligibility and Selection Criteria: The National Agency will select projects for the EITAs between finalised KA1 and KA2 (strategic partnerships) decentralised projects selected and managed by the Agency in question. As a general rule, any KA1 or KA2 (strategic partnerships) project selected in the framework of the (2014-2020) Erasmus+ programme period and completed (including the final report evaluation) on 31 December of the year preceding the EITA selection should be considered for the EITA.


Award Criteria: The EITA will be awarded based on the following criteria. Each criterion could be assessed on a scale of 1 (basic level) to 5 (advanced level):


Thematic priority For the 2021 European Innovative Teaching Award the annual topic will be distance/blended/hybrid learning to show how using distance learning and teaching practices and related digital tools or other forms of blended learning contribute to effective and inclusive education. This thematic priority will be particularly relevant in the current Covid-19 context and linked to the Digital Education Action Plan.






In what ways are the teaching and learning approaches elaborated and implemented in the project innovative?

·         Multidisciplinary approaches

·         Key competence development (knowledge, skills and attitudes)

·         Linking formal, non-formal and informal learning

·         Inclusion, participation, cooperation

·         Innovative use of tools

·         Learners’ active role in the learning process



In what ways do learning environments involved in the project support innovative teaching and learning approaches?

·         The whole school approach

·         Cross-sectoral cooperation

·         Digital/blended learning

·         Schools as enablers of innovation



In what ways do teachers/educators involved in the project influence the innovative teaching and learning processes?

·         Teachers’ agency as innovators

·         Teachers’ competences

·         Teachers’ cooperation and peer learning



What is the impact of the innovative teaching and learning processes elaborated and implemented in the project?

·         Quality of innovation processes

·         Spill-over effect (to other students, teachers, schools, local communities)