Common Assessment Framework

caf-2013The CAF is a total quality management tool developed by the public sector for the public sector, inspired by the Excellence Model of the European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM). It is based on the premise that excellent results in organisational performance, citizens/customers, people and society are achieved through leadership driving strategy and planning, people, partnerships, resources and processes. The framework looks at the organisation from different angles at the same time: the holistic approach to organisation performance analysis. The CAF has been designed for use in all parts of the public sector, and is applicable to public organisations at the European, national/federal, regional and local level.

The CAF is divided into three phases:

Phase 1: The Start of the CAF Journey

• Organisation and plan the self-assessment;
• Communicate the self-assessment project

Phase 2: Self-Assessment Process

• Compose one or more self assessment groups;
• Organise training;
• Undertake the self-assessment;
• Draw up a report describing the results of self-assessment

Phase 3: Improvement Plan / Prioritisation

• Drafting an improvement plan;
• Communicate the improvement plan;
• Implement the improvement plan;
• Plan next self-assessment

The EUPA has initiated the implementation process of the CAF with the ambition to grow towards excellence in its performance and so as to introduce a culture of excellence in the organisation. It is currently concluding the last step of Phase 2 with the drafting of the report illustrating the self-assessment process together with its results.
The Agency’s next step will be that of identifying which improvement action items can be undertaken and the resources required. The implementation of these improvement actions should be based on a suitable and consistent approach, and a process of monitoring and assessment will be undertaken.

More information about the CAF is available on